Answer Interview Questions Like a Pro

Related image

What is Your Greatest Strength?

The best way to respond is to describe the skills and experience that you have which directly correlates with the job you are applying for. Be prepared to answer by making a list of the qualifications mentioned in the job posting. 

Examples of Best Answers Guide

  1. I have an extremely strong work ethic. When I’m working on a project, I don’t want just to meet deadlines. Rather, I prefer to complete the project well ahead of schedule. Last year, I even earned a bonus for completing my three most recent reports one week ahead of time.
  2. I have extremely strong writing skills. Having worked as a copy editor for five years, I have a strong attention to detail when it comes to my writing. I have also written for a variety of publications, so I know how to shape my writing style to fit the task and audience. As a marketing assistant, I will be able to effectively write and edit press releases, and update web content with accuracy and ease.
  3. I am a skilled salesman with over ten years of experience. I have exceeded my sales goals every quarter and I’ve earned a bonus each year since I started with my current employer.
  4. I pride myself on my customer service skills and my ability to resolve what could be difficult situations. With five years of experience as a customer service associate, I have learned to effectively understand and resolve customer issues. On a related note, I also have strong communication skills, which helps me work well with customers, team members, and executives. I am known for being an effective team member with a talent for giving presentations.

What is your greatest weakness?

Note that the term “weakness” isn’t used in the sample answers — you always want to focus on the positive when interviewing.

  1. When I’m working on a project, I don’t want just to meet deadlines. Rather, I prefer to complete the project well ahead of schedule.
  2. Being organized wasn’t my strongest point, but I implemented a time management system that really helped my organization skills.
  3. I like to make sure that my work is perfect, so I tend to perhaps spend a little too much time checking it. However, I’ve come to a good balance by setting up a system to ensure everything is done correctly the first time.
  4. I used to wait until the last minute to set appointments for the coming week, but I realized that scheduling in advance makes much more sense.
  5. Why should we hire you?

    1. I think that my experience in the (widget) industry and my ability to work autonomously make me a good match for this position.
    2. I have the savvy, experience, and superior communication ability to be an asset to your company.
    3. Your company provides many services that I have had experience with, in a variety of capacities. I believe that my familiarity with the industry would make me a good fit for this position.
    4. You have explained that you are looking for a sales executive who is able to effectively manage over a dozen employees. In my fifteen years of experience as a sales manager, I have developed strong motivational and team-building skills. I was twice awarded manager-of-the-year for my innovative strategies for motivating employees to meet and surpass quarterly deadlines. If hired, I will bring my leadership abilities and strategies for achieving profit gains to this position
    5. I have top-notch administrative skills and I believe I’d be an asset for the office. My skill set seems to be a perfect match for what you’re looking for. In addition, I enjoy working with people, and would welcome the opportunity to be a part of your team.

You describe in the job listing that you are looking for a special education assistant teacher with an abundance of patience and compassion. Having served as a tutor at a summer school for dyslexic children for the past two years, I have developed my ability to be extremely patient while still achieving academic gains with my students. My experience teaching phonics to children ages 6 to 18 has taught me strategies for working with children of all ages and abilities, always with a smile. My previous employer often placed me with the students with the most severe learning disabilities because of my history of success. I will bring not only experience, but patience and creative problem-solving, to this position.                                                                                                      Why did you leave your previous job                                                                                                 

  • After several years in my last position, I’m looking for a company where I can contribute and grow in a team-oriented environment.
  • I am interested in a new challenge and an opportunity to use my technical skills and experience in a different capacity than I have in the past.
    • I’m relocating to this area due to family circumstances and left my previous position in order to make the move.
    • I’ve decided that my current work role is not the direction I want to go in my career and my current employer has no opportunities in the direction I’d like to head.
    • I was laid off from my last position when our department was eliminated due to corporate restructuring.I recently received my degree and I want to utilize my educational background in my next position.I am interested in a job with more responsibility, and I am very ready for a new challenge.here isn’t room for growth with my current employer and I’m ready to move on to a new challenge I’m looking for a bigger challenge and to grow my career, but didn’t feel like I could give equal attention both to my job search and to my full-time work responsibilities. It didn’t seem ethical to slack off from my former job in order to conduct my job search, and so I left the company.
  • I found myself bored with the work and looking for more challenges. I am an excellent employee and I didn’t want my unhappiness to have any impact on the job I was doing for my employer.
    • I left my last position in order to spend more time with my family. Circumstances have changed and I’m more than ready for full-time employment again.
    • I am seeking a position with a stable company with room for growth and opportunity for advancement.
    • I was commuting to the city and spending a significant amount of time each day on travel. I would prefer to be closer to home.
    • To be honest, I wasn’t considering a move, but I saw this job posting and was intrigued by the position and the company. It sounds like an exciting opportunity and an ideal match with my qualifications.
    • This position seemed like an excellent match for my skills and experience and I am not able to fully utilize them in my present job.
    • The company was cutting back and, unfortunately, my job was one of those eliminated.
    • Credit: thebalance
Leave a Reply

