How not to search for Love in wrong places

 

I need to find someone to complete me” is a common lament I hear from single women, and even from men. Yet no one can complete you but YOU!

We look for love from friends and family. “I do so much for everyone in my life yet I feel used and taken for granted.” We chase love in many directions yet rarely feel fulfilled Being loved begins and ends with you! Even when other people–your parents, spouse, best friend, etc.–actually do love you, it’s hard to receive love if you don’t love yourself!

Image result for self love quotesPeople can say, “I love you,” and do nice things for you. But, if you don’t love yourself, it still won’t make you feel content inside on a long-term basis.

Look for the love inside you. It’s there, even if its been beaten down by self-criticism and ignoring your needs to please others. I created my 10 Commandments of Self-Love to create even more awareness of how you might be hurting your ability to love yourself as much as you could, and to help you increase awareness of stopping self-love busters. Print them out, hang them up, and read them aloud whenever you can. Eventually you’ll find yourself applying them more and more.  

10 COMMANDMENTS OF SELF-LOVE
1. I shall lovingly accept myself as I am right now.
2. I shall appreciate all the beauty that makes me who I am.
3. I shall regularly give thanks for all of my blessings.
4. I shall trust in my ability to take care of myself.
5. I shall not criticize myself.
6. I shall not criticize others.
7. I shall forgive myself when I make a mistake.
8. I shall be kind to others, without sacrificing my own needs.
9. I shall take responsibility for my life.
10. I shall love myself to the best of my ability.

credit: Daylle Deanna Schwartz

 

 

Leave a Reply

